192. Ashe Supply Co. – September 29, 2016 – Detroit, MI

 

Hello, all! Happy Sunday! I hope you are keeping dry this weekend! Here in the D, it’s been raining buckets the last few days. I also hope none of you Metro-Detroiters were affected by all of the flooding shenanigans that occurred Thursday. Obvi, we need better storm drains in our freeway system here!

Funny thing about Thursday: my team at work had planned that day to go to an afternoon Tigers game. Yes, the soggiest possible home game of the season to attend – with that particular date having been my suggestion (Whoops!). What it translated to was a long lunch at beloved Detroit Beer Company (Black and White Bean Dip, holla!) plus strolling the Comerica Park concourses and streets of Detroit in the rain.

One of my coworkers is originally from up north and had only visited downtown a few times before, so she wanted to wander and explore. Bundled in my fairly rain-resistant sweatshirt and knit hat, I did not object. But slogging around in the rain is only charming for so long. When our little group decided to stop in to the little coffee shop we’d stumbled upon earlier on Broadway to take a respite from the dampness, I was thrilled. Warmth, and dryness, and a new place for 100 Places!

Ashe Supply Co. is exactly the coffee shop I wish existed in my neighborhood. If it did, I’d be working there all of the time. It’s clean and cozy and hipster-ish. There are various seating areas, including a small bar rail along the barista counter. And the music is at the perfect decibel level to ensure concentration.

In addition to its several varieties of coffee, Ashe sells wares from other area vendors, including baked goods from Sister Pie, who I could totally see as being the creators of the pumpkin whoopie pie with cream cheese icing that one of my coworkers ordered. I got a taste of that icing, and it was extraordinary! The company also peddles artwork from local creatives, Detroit-themed clothing, and coffee- and tea-related accessories.

And what did I order during my visit to Ashe? I decided on a mint tea, which was the perfect antidote to an hour of rain walking / a belly full of bean and cheese dip and too many scavenged French fries. While the game was inevitably called off, hey, at least I got to bond with coworkers and avoid my office cubicle for a half day. In life, it’s all about the tiny victories, right?

1555 Broadway St.

Detroit, MI 48226

www.ashesupplyco.com

Leave a Reply

