169. Le Petit Zinc – March 20, 2016 – Detroit, MI

20160320_13452620160320_122551

20160320_125618

Le Petit Zinc’s jambon et fromage (ham and Swiss cheese) crepe

Happy Easter, all! I’m popping on to recount my visit to the very lovely Le Petit Zinc for brunch last Sunday. Housed in what appears to be an old house in an area of Corktown that is off the beaten path, it’s a gorgeous little café done up in vibrant colors, with a cute little outdoor garden patio that will probably be stunning once the plants start to bloom.

 

As you may gather from the name, this restaurant is a French-themed one – specializing in crepes, although its menu offers other items, such as sandwiches, salads, ratatouille (vegetable stew – not just the name of that Disney movie), and quiche. I’m sure the other food is great (my friend enjoyed her sandwich), but the crepes are where it’s at, guys!

MMMM, crepes. I am not a crepe afficianodo or anything, but it does seem to me that many foods are better with a thin, fluffy, delicate pancake-tortilla wrapped around them. And Le Petit Zinc offers a selection of both sweet and savory crepes – the best of both worlds! The jambon et fromage (ham and Swiss cheese) crepe I ordered – shown above and accompanied by a mixed-greens side salad – was glorious meaty, melty deliciousness. For dessert, I ordered our server’s recommendation, the citron sucre (lemon-sugar) crepe – AMAZING!

So yeah, Le Petit Zinc is a slam dunk in my book, especially coming at it from the brunch angle. I go to a lot of Sunday brunches with friends and enjoy the heck out of myself, but I’m admittedly not a big brunch-foods person; the fact that I don’t like eggs really cramps my style when ordering off of a menu where every dish is loaded with those suckers. So any menu that gives me the chance to have a lunch-y meal rather than a brunch-y meal – and a fresh, delicious one at that – gets extra gold stars in my book.

Another point toward Le Petit Zinc I learned while perusing its website is that it uses “all organic flour and local produce, when possible.” It also makes a crepe that is vegan for those of you who refrain from eating animal products. Yay, yay and yay!

An additional tidbit worth mentioning: there is no booze at Le Petit Zinc. So no mimosas for you and your squad if you decide to brunch here. But there are fun coffee drinks – espressos, cappuccinos, macchiatos – aka, the good stuff that really makes you fly! So you can get your caffeine buzz on instead.

1055 Trumbull St.

Detroit, MI 48126

(Open for lunch and dinner: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. Sunday)

www.lepetitzincdetroit.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

