103. Red Velvet Cakes and Pastries – February 14, 2015 – Clinton Township, MI

20150214_162747

I’m rather delayed in getting this one and the next post out. And I really haven’t done much visiting of new places lately, as you can see. I miss it. But it’s February, and the truth is that I just don’t feel like venturing out after work or going very far afield. And I spent so much time hassling family and friends about trying new places last year that I’m trying to ease up on that – for now. So. This is where I’m at right now.

It makes me feel better that when I started my blog last February, I had a really slow start. February is not really a ripping-and-running type of month. It’s a let’s-endure-this type of month in my mind. Valentine’s Day is a small bright spot.

I am not the kind of person who likes to take a crap on Valentine’s Day because it is a commercial holiday. I enjoy it. I think any day that encourages us to show love toward those who are special to us (and that includes ourselves!) is a more than worthwhile one. And I’ll welcome any excuse to indulge in chocolate and delicious baked goods in these dreary, negative-wind-chill times.

Red Velvet Cakes and Pastries is in my neighborhood, and I’d driven by it many times and thought about how I needed to check it out pretty much every time I’d done so. I finally did on Valentine’s Day and got some of their delicious cupcakes, all plump with frosting and decadence. There are bumpy-cake cupcakes and salted caramel cupcakes and German chocolate cupcakes and white-chocolate bumpy-cake cupcakes . . . so much cupcake-y goodness! It was a worthwhile visit, indeed.

42948 Hayes Rd.

Clinton Twp., MI 48038
http://www.redvelvetcakeshop.com/

Leave a Reply

